My Top 10 Commands

As seen over on Planet Ubuntu Users (although I use ZSH so modified slightly).

narsil% cat .histfile | awk '{print $1}' | awk 'BEGIN {FS="|"} {print $1}' | sort | uniq -c | sort -rn | head -10
181 vim
105 cd
98 cvc
81 sudo
66 conary
49 rmake
29 hg
25 rm
22 mplayer
18 ll

Pretty interesting, I’m surprised vim was top considering I use gvim for most of my ‘heavy’ editing. Must be all those small changes to files I do without even realising. It’s funny that ll (an alias I use for ls -lah) came bottom, the last time I made a list ls was #1. Now I use tab complete all the time and use ll to check sizes and modes. I wondered which conary commands I was using most so I strung that together too.

narsil% cat .histfile | egrep '^(conary|sudo conary)' | sed s/sudo// | awk '{print $1, $2}' | sort | uniq -c | sort -nr
44 conary update
40 conary q
4 conary scs
4 conary erase
3 conary rollback
1 conary updateall

Not all that surprising. I tend to do lots of updates while building packages then rollback the whole lot. I rarely, if ever, use erase – at least two of those were me removing Firefox to test MonoDevelop 0.14.

I only keep 1000 history entries though so its more telling off what I’ve been doing in the last couple of days rather than in general.

Hurray! Second post (Now actually tagged Foresight) :/

About this entry